knitted: Valentine’s for my feet (garter rib socks)

365.257 - Valentine's socks

I’d been on an unintentional sock-knitting hiatus for no real reason except for obsession with other projects. I started these socks on a plane trip last June and put them away for 8 months with only a few inches done. When I went to Indianapolis earlier this month, I went through my usual angst over which knitting projects to bring. I narrowed it down to six (hush! I know I’m nuts) and ended up working on three while I was there. It’s funny how knitting inspiration happens – of the three I worked on, two were a total surprise to me. One of those surprises was a knit I started in August 2007 and has been in hibernation basically ever since. The other was these socks.

While others deal with Second Sock Syndrome, I apparently had a case of First Sock Syndrome. It took me 8 months to finish the first sock – and 3 days to finish the second.
2009.2.13 - Valentine's socks
pattern: Garter Rib from Sensational Knitted Socks by Charlene Schurch
yarn: The Unique Sheep Verve, in Cherry Blossom, a colorway inspired by MiniLaura’s contest-winning photo – I had bought a skein of this yarn for the raffle I held last summer, and I fell for it so hard that I had to order a skein for myself
needles: size 0. I only ever knit socks on size 0s because I cannot begin to approximate gauge on anything bigger. Weird, I know.
dates: June 15-February 10
verdict: I love them! If I had to do it over again, I’d have probably chosen to do straight stockinette with this yarn – you can see how pretty the stockinette shows up the colorway on the bottom of the feet:
365.256 outtake (for Rav) - Valentine's socks
Yeah, they kind of make me want to just lie in bed all day on Valentine’s Day and let My Old Man bring me Godiva chocolate-covered strawberries. I didn’t get my wish about lying around all day, but I did get the goodies:
365.257/2009.2.14 - decadence

Hope your day was sweet, too!

5 thoughts on “knitted: Valentine’s for my feet (garter rib socks)

  1. They look wonderful — what a fun colourway!

    I’m kinda the same about the first sock in a multi-coloured. I’m all enthused to see how a yarn will knit up, but once I know, it’s kinda, well, you know. But I’m the opposite with plain socks from charts — I get the first one done quickly, and then … well, why bother with the second one. 🙂 As if sock knitting itself weren’t quirky enough, we need to have sub-quirks. LOL!

  2. Wow, size 0 needles – I don’t think I would ever finish anything on those! The socks look very pretty (and great for lounging around and eating chocolate covered strawberries!)

  3. Too cute!!! I don’t knit, I crochet and things like this are anywhere from difficult to impossible, but I love handmade things and these socks are adoreable…

Leave a comment